“…the marvellous Plane Dukes Rahman Trio. In Schumann’s Marchenerzahlungen the trio showed a mastery of the Wigmore acoustics. The warm textures were honey rather than treacle, clarity provided by the piquant tone of Philip Dukes’s viola. Balance was perfect. The clarinet-piano Fantasiestucke and viola-piano Marchenbilder were enriched by the same intelligent, fluid articulation, confirming the rightness of this affectionate but unsentimental view of Schumann.”

The Daily Telegraph 1998

“As professor John White, genial host of the 26th International Viola Congress, remarked; if you want to have a concert featuring a line-up of viola, clarinet and piano, get the best in the land-violist Philip Dukes, clarinettist Robert Plane, and pianist Sophia Rahman. Best in the land? I think I’d go further. They are a consummate chamber ensemble. The rapport between them is extraordinary. You take for granted the incredible balance they achieve between the instruments; you assume,when you hear them, every nuance of flexibility and expression that they come out with-they are flawlessly unanimous. Then you catch yourself making these assumptions and think again about the sheer graft, and the years of effort that must have gone into crafting such a relationship. They are world-class, and they demonstrated all of this at every turn. The sight and sound of these three together, as many people have remarked, seems as instinctive as breathing itself.”

The Herald, Glasgow 1998

“Three outstanding musicians form Great Britain….They began the midday concert with four pieces by Max Bruch, excellently expressed, with sure technical command and demonstrative self-assurance, as might be expected of musicians at the height of their artistic development. The Dance Preludes for clarinet and piano by Lutoslawski is an enchanting, delightful work. Robert Plane, with his velvety tone and very clear articulation, and pianist Sophia Rahman presented an attractive rendition.’

La Nacion, Buenos Aires 1995

“Monday Morning’s Pittville Pump Room concert was a perfect advertisement for this year’s Cheltenham Festival. The Plane Dukes Rahman Trio were on top form, there was a friendly rapport between performers and audience, and the programme exemplified the thoughtful planning of the new artistic director, Michael Berkeley. The whole programme suggested that for these musicians, superb playing is the most natural thing in the world.”

The Daily Telegraph 1995

“Sophia Rahman is pianist, and Philip Dukes, viola, and Robert Plane, clarinet, joined her in a varied programme of both duos and trios, culminating in the lovely ‘’Kegelstatt’’ Trio in Eb K.498 by Mozart. This was beautifully played, con amore, by the trio, whose ensemble is perfectly balanced and whose musicianship is faultless. Dukes has a warm and full tone, Plane is charmingly eloquent, and the performance was quite enchanting.”

The Glasgow Herald 1994

“The three winners of the Royal Overseas League prize are charming in themselves and in their music. What charms about the playing, perhaps, is the ability which each of these players has to let the music flow, and the absence of tension in the sound. Robert Plane’s clarinet playing is wonderfully liquid, though he makes very definite musical statements, and violist Philip Dukes produces a purring legato, and a real viola sound, a distinctive contralto voice.”

The Scotsman 1994